Senate Bill 22-238 requires the Property Tax Administrator to calculate and report the ratio of valuation for assessment of residential property, except multi-family, to the general assembly for property tax year 2024, on or before March 21, 2024.
The Division of Property Taxation would like to recognize Property Tax Specialist, Curtis Belcher, for his dedicated and outstanding public service to the citizens of Colorado. After more than 13 years with the Division, Curtis quietly retired this past month.
A message from JoAnn Groff, State of Colorado Property Tax Administrator,
As you all are probably aware, today, Governor Polis called a special session to begin November 17, 2023, in an effort to lower the taxable value of properties in Colorado for 2023.
The Division of Property Taxation will hold the 63rd Annual Law Seminar for assessors on Tuesday, December 5, 2023. The Law Seminar will be held from 9:00 am to 12:30 pm, at the Elizabeth Hotel, 111 Chestnut Street, Fort Collins, Colorado, 80524. A registration table will be set up at 7:30 am for each attendee to sign-in and pick up the materials.
Please use the link below to register for the Law Seminar. Each person attending needs to submit a registration form. Registration will be open until November 28, 2023. The link to register for Law Seminar is:
The 2023 State Demography Summit will be held on Friday, November 3 both virtually and in-person at the Summit Room of the Arapahoe Community College. Registration for this year's summit costs $60.00 per person for in-person registration (plus fees) and $30.00 per person, for live-stream registration (plus fees). Continuing education credits will be available for Real Estate Appraisers and Real Estate Brokers. This year’s Summit will feature presentations on
The Department of Local Affairs, Division of Property Taxation, will be holding a rule making hearing to consider public input on proposed changes to CCR 8 1304-2, Rules and Regulations For Exempt Properties. The current rules may be viewed at the Colorado Secretary of State’s website, https://www.coloradosos.gov.
The proposed changes are additions and amendments designed to adjust the rules to conform to statutory changes. Suggested changes will be available at
A summary of changes to your state assessed accounts is attached for valuation corrections occurring after August 1, 2023.
The report summarizes changes for Company Assessed Values, 5.5 Percent Growth and TABOR values, and Private Carline Assessed Values.
If you have any questions regarding any of the changes to your county’s 2023 state assessed values, please contact one of the state assessed appraisers listed below:
This message is a reminder of the upcoming deadline for the Senior Citizen and Disabled Veterans exemption programs. The deadline for counties to upload their exemption files to the Division of Property Taxation's "County Portal" is September 11, 2023.
Please keep in mind that the Division is not able to grant extensions for this program and late or incorrectly formatted files may result in loss of reimbursement funding to counties.
The Division has scheduled the 2024 Declaration Schedule review and update meeting for Tuesday, August 15, 2023, at 10:00 AM. The meeting will be held remotely via Zoom. The Division will be presenting proposed updates to all declaration schedules. Recommended changes can be submitted any time before the meeting. We will also consider recommended changes proposed after the meeting until Friday, August 25.
Zoom Meeting Information: